Why the float test for porosity is trash

So guys, if you’ve read my previous blog on hair porosity you know that I have a lot of problems with hair porosity. My problem isn’t just with the tests but also the characteristics of different porosities and how confusing porosity is when your hair has characteristics of 2 or 3 porosities.

This weekend I decided to do another porosity test using the float test and guess what? After 2 hours my strands were still floating.

My hair still floats after 2 hours

There are several articles that mention why normal or high porosity hair might float. One being that hair is light so it will almost always float on water especially if you have fine to medium strands which I do.

So ladies, gents and beautiful haired people. Your hair floating might not be a sign of low porosity. I would advice doing the strand test also as that is more reliable.

Another interesting thing I learned is that not every high porosity hair is porous. This sounds similar to natural high porosity hair. Hair becomes porous through damage.

Also, I am starting to believe that learning your hair characteristics is more important than just relying on porosity to determine how to care for your hair. Especially for people whose hair characteristics fit different porosities, it is important to care for your according to how it acts.

For example, my hair loses and gains moisture from the environment frequently so I seal my hair. But my hair also doesn’t absorb products fast and might even get product overload if I apply to many products at once. So I apply my leave in on wet hair in the shower and wait a couple minutes before applying my styler.

I hope this article helped someone. Don’t forget to follow my blog to get updates when I post.

Watch out for my review of some products from the shea moisture jamaican black castor oil line

Leave a comment